St. Thomas Aquinas vs. Immaculata – Rivalry at a Glance

St. Thomas Aquinas RB Elijah Abass-Shereef rushed 20 times for 180 yards and 3 TDs in the Trojans 42-14 victory over Immaculata on Thanksgiving Eve. It was the first win by the Trojans over the Spartans since 1973.

Trojans Defeat Spartans for the First Time Since 1973

SOUTH PLAINFIELD, NJ – On Thanksgiving Eve, St. Thomas Aquinas and Immaculata renewed their rivarly with a game at the Torpey Complex in Bridgewater. It was the first time the Trojans and Spartans faced off against each other in exactly 20 years.

The Spartans took a 7-0 lead late in the first quarter and then led 14-7 in the second before Aquinas scored the last 34 points of the contest for a 42-14 victory. Senior RB, Elijah Abass-Shereef reached the 1,000-yard mark for the season while scoring 3 TDs.

Chase Young, another 1,000-yard rusher for the Trojans this season, rushed for 2 TDs while QB Roman Blanks added a TD rush of his own. The victory marked the first time in 50 years that St. Thomas Aquinas defeated Immaculata, and the win snapped the Spartans five-game winning streak in the series. Immaculata still leads the series 6-3.

Take a look below at the Rivalry at a Glance between the Trojans and Spartans.

YearWinnerWinning ScoreLoserLosing Score
1971Immaculata40St. Thomas Aquinas8
1972St. Thomas Aquinas32Immaculata6
1973St. Thomas Aquinas27Immaculata0
1974Immaculata25St. Thomas Aquinas6
1975Immaculata23St. Thomas Aquinas7
1976Immaculata16St. Thomas Aquinas14
2002Immaculata20St. Thomas Aquinas0
2003Immaculata28St. Thomas Aquinas0
2023St. Thomas Aquinas42Immaculata14
  • Series began in 1971 
  • Immaculata leads series 6-3
  • Immaculata has outscored Aquinas 172-136.  Or by an average of 19-15 per game.
  • Last time Aquinas and Immaculata played – 2003 – Spartans won 28-0
  • Immaculata – 5 game winning streak just snapped – longest in series
  • Aquinas – won two straight in 1972 and 1973
  • Aquinas last won in 1973 (27-0) before winning on Thanksgiving Eve 2023 (42-14).
  • Immaculata – 2 shutouts (2002-03)
  • Aquinas – 1 shutout (1973)